Top 5 Wednesday – Dec 30

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at GingerReadsLainey and the topics can be found at the Goodreads Group.

Today’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Books of the Year!

Get ready for me to repeat myself lol

In no particular order…
  

1. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater 

I’ve mentioned this series many times, it’s one of my all time favorites.

It’s about a group of 4 boys who go to a prestigious high school and they are on a quest to find a long dead Welsh king who will grant them a wish. They are joined early on in the book by Blue, a girl who comes from a family of psychics and she is the only one without the gift. There’s adventure, wonderful characters, and beautiful world building. 

The 4th book comes out in April, my friend Michelle over at MichEllisLife and I were considering doing a read along for the series in March because we loved it so much we want to re-read it before The Raven Kings release. If you haven’t read them yet or want to give them a re-read and this is something you’re interested in, let me know in the comments!

2. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

I really didn’t plan to read this one, I had read the description and it didn’t sound like something I would like, but Michelle read it and just raved over it and so I decided to pick it up. I ended up loving it so much I didn’t want to put it down!

This is about a girl who is allergic to everything, she lives in her house that is on lockdown from germs and the outside world with only her books and nanny around most of the time (the books go through a pretty lengthy decontamination process to get to her too). Then a boy moves next door and stuff gets complicated. It was so cute, so easy to read, I can’t say more how much I loved it.

3. Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

This is the 3rd book in the Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children series, I don’t want to say too much about it so I don’t spoil the story for anyone who hasn’t started the series before. But the first book is about a boy who discovers a world with children who have certain odd abilities and they go on some crazy adventures fighting really crazy creatures. Ransom Riggs has such an interesting way of writing his story about odd antique photographs that he collects. I found the series fascinating and even though the romance in this series turns me off, I still love it as a whole.

4. Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Another one I’ve raved about before and what a beautiful story this is, I love the paperback cover of this book more so I preordered it as soon as finished reading because I needed to own this.

This story follows 2 girls, a white girl named Linda and an African American girl named Sarah, from a fictional town in Virgina. The year is 1959, and Sarah is in a group of negros being integrated into a previously all white school.

This was so hard to read at times, the amount of cruelty that came from the whites of this time period is appalling and it was very graphic. There is also a LGBT theme in this book as both girls are attracted to each other and it kind of goes through their struggles with it being 1959 and that topic being something people tended not to talk about. I thought it was beautifully written and well done throughout. 

5. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

This is about a girl whos parents have invented a device that can take you to different dimensions. The idea being that every choice there ever was made in life had a different dimension. She travels to these because the man she believes killed her father is on the run in the different dimensions. She goes to some really fascinating ones like one (minor glimpse into the book, skip this if you don’t want to know anything before reading it, it’s not a spoiler but just in case you don’t want to know) where the world isn’t quite as advanced and her mother is married to a Russian Czar! No spoilers since I’m not going to tell you what happens but it was one of my favorites!

Anyways, I thought it would be hard to pick 5 but I discovered that other than my Harry Potter re-read this year, I didn’t fall in love with too many… Hoping that changes next year and I can’t narrow it down 😊

What are your favorites this year, leave me a list or a link to your blog post/video! I’d love to see it.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, bye 😊

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday – Dec 30

  1. Great choices 😉 I’m so glad that we read so many books together this year. It’s been such a fun year. I bet we will read so many great books next year that this topic will be impossible for you to narrow down!!

    Like

Leave a comment